Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Changing Rear speakers (06 LX special ed. sedan)

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2006, 06:37 PM
hmankman
Unregistered
Default Changing Rear speakers (06 LX special ed. sedan)

Well i'm actually a newbie to all this but I wondering if I need anything extra that i have to buy in order to install the speakers that I bought today. The speakers are JBL GTO926 series.

Like do i need harnesses?! wires?? or can i just pop them in?

also, lol, how would i remove the grill on top of the speakers? I tried wedging a screwdriver in it but i was scared i might break it so I didn't apply any force? Is that how i would take it off though?

I would appreciate it if you guys could help me out and lemme know what to do!

Old 07-06-2006, 11:35 PM
Default RE: Changing Rear speakers (06 LX special ed. sedan)

Well, I don't know too much about the install, but I do know there should be 3 screws (I think) for each speaker in the trunk. You have to unscrew them to get the stock grilles off. Aside from that I got nothing.

Old 07-07-2006, 01:13 AM
hmankman
Unregistered

really? see i looked at the screws in the trunk but I didn't look closely, but from what i gathered the bottoms of the screws were in the trunk. So i thought the top would be in the car(where i actually unscrew it), behind the seat.

Old 07-07-2006, 01:42 AM

I think the screws you are looking at are the screws that screw down the actual speaker, which are on the sides of the speaker (on top) under the grille. This is second hand knowledge so I very well could be off but, take a close look and see if you see another set.

Old 07-07-2006, 07:40 PM