Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Sound system installation

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2010, 06:24 PM
Default Sound system installation

I have a 2002 Honda Accord ex v6 coupe. I am getting ready to install an entire new set up in it, I have two Polk Audio db 6.5" for the doors, the component db tweeters for the dash, and Polk Audion mm 6x9"s for the rear deck. I have an 8" bass tube (temporary) in the trunk, and a Sony WX-GT77UI head unit. I am going to be powering it all with a 16-PR4x50 Memphis Audio Amplifier.
Since this is my first time dealing with sound systems, needless to say, I have some questions. First, how do you remove the dashboard to install the tweeters? Does anyone have a guide for this? Second, what is a good area to put my amp (it is pretty large) so I do not have to run wires back and forth all over the place, and so it can get enough air flow so it won't over heat.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Old 07-17-2010, 12:22 AM
Super Moderator

Welcome to HAF! start with my build log - link in the sig.

the tweeters have removable covers. those mesh covered pieces just come off. to access and rewire them you'll want to remove the instrument cluster and the glove box. both are pretty straight forward and i can guide you through that process by memory.

amp locations are plentiful in the car. i don't recommend going under the front seats though, so the trunk is really the place for it.

if you want to discuss in more detail, send me a PM and maybe we can have a phone convo to discuss.

after looking at my build log and the sticky's in this section, come back with more questions! i think you'll find a lot of info there.

Old 07-17-2010, 12:57 AM
Super Moderator

step by step for removing dash panels to run wiring easily:

* remove radio and A/C trim. two screws on bottom, one behind the hazard/clock (pops off). two wire harnesses for A/C.