Do-It-Yourself Section This section is for requests for DIY help, not for general technical advice.

2001 Accord Power Window Failure

Old 08-03-2013, 03:54 PM
Default 2001 Accord Power Window Failure

All fixed, this is just a quick report. First thanks to all the posts on here, it helped me to get a better understanding of the electrical. I've never worked on automotive electrical before so dispelling some of the mystery was great. I didn't find any problems/solutions like mine, so I'm adding this in.

2001 Accord 4D, 4cyl

Problem: Rear power-window (driver side) stopped half-raised. No action in either direction. Under-dash and engine fuses looked fine. After disassembling both rear doors, I confirmed that both switch and motor were functional. No power to the switch.

Troubleshooting: First, found and verified fuses under dash and in engine. Used known good fuses to make sure it wasn't just a fault in a fuse.

Second, disassembled switches on both rear doors and tested known-good scenarios. Failing switch worked fine on passenger-side door. Working switch failed on the driver-side door. So the switch wasn't the problem.

Third, removed rear p/w actuator
, plugged in to passenger-side harnesses and it worked fine. So the motor wasn't the problem.

I figured out that the clicking noise when activating the switch indicated power and confirmed my suspicion that power wasn't getting to the failing switch harness. Read the internet for ideas and understanding of auto electrical and the accord systems. Eventually realized that the p/w systems is relatively simple circuit and started trying testing scenarios using my multimeter.

On the working door, I tried to figure out which wires were power, ground, traveller, etc. I crossed circuits or had the wrong setting on my multimeter, b/c I blew the fuse. Put in a new fuse and decided just to start by figuring out the grounding situation.