Do-It-Yourself Section This section is for requests for DIY help, not for general technical advice.

Need Info on how to change rotors for 06 accord

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2009, 12:31 PM
svrocks
Unregistered
Default Need Info on how to change rotors for 06 accord

Hi room,

I'm new to this form and I was wondering if there is any information on how to change rotors and brake pads for a 06 accord?

thanks in advance!

Old 03-18-2009, 02:17 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

Brake Pads: Remove the lower slider pin bolt holding the caliper to the caliper bracket, swing the caliper up and tie it there with twin or wire, pull the pads out, lube the shims (back) of the new pads and slide them in. Compress and turn the caliper piston back into the caliper, install everything in reverse order, but take out both slider pins this time and give them a healthy coating of high-temp moly grease or "brake grease".

Brake Rotors:

Take the wheel off, remove the two screws on the rotor (these are probably rusted and need drilling), remove the caliper, pads, caliper bracket from the hub, tap on the rotor with a hammer to free the rotor from the hub, slide new rotor over hub and reinstall everything. Install wheel and torque lugs to 80 lb. ft.

I probably left a few things out, but nothing a Haynes/Chilton/Helm's manual won't cover.

Old 03-18-2009, 02:23 PM

Originally Posted by svrocks
Hi room,

I'm new to this form and I was wondering if there is any information on how to change rotors and brake pads for a 06 accord?

thanks in advance!
Assuming that you have all for disc's it's pretty simple.
Pads
1)Lift the car in a place that you can easily remove the wheel and get access to the brakes.

2)Remove the wheel

3)Remove the two pin bolts on the top portion of the caliper

4)Slid out the slid pins

4)Remove the two set bolts on the bottom portion of the caliper

5)Gentle remove the caliper (be sure that you don't ever have the working
mechanism suspended by its own weight)