General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

$830 for new distributor from mechanic. HELP!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2016, 09:08 PM
Default $830 for new distributor from mechanic. HELP!!!

Hi guys. This is my 1st post. I wanted to share with you what my mechanic found.
1998 accord 4dr lx 4cyl

Needs a new distributor assembly.
He wants:
Distributor $578
Labor $173
Job supplies $40
Taxes $40

Approx. total $830!!!!!!

Now Im not a mechanic but that seems nuts. I took shop for 4 years back in HS. Ive done a few distributors and they were simple. Unplug, unbolt. re bolt and re plug. == good to go
And the distributors were nowhere near $578!!!!

What do you think? Should I have towed home and do it myself?
I've seen the videos on youtube. Simple.

1: mark your wires appropreatley
2. disconnect connection
3. remove bolts

off

to put on just repeat backwards.

Old 09-29-2016, 09:32 PM
Super Moderator

That price is likely for the OEM Honda distributor assembly. Did the mechanic say what was wrong with the distributor?

The Honda distributor is pretty simple. I've installed the distributor 180 off, so I just remove the distributor cap to see where the rotor is pointing and leave the wires on. The 98 distributor didn't have slotted holes and just bolts on, so you shouldn't have to worry about setting the base timing.

I can't remember if the 98-02 accords had a different distributor for the EX vs the LX/DX. If you have an external coil, just make sure you get the distributor that doesn't have an internal coil.

Old 09-29-2016, 09:45 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

Originally Posted by PAhonda
That price is likely for the OEM Honda distributor assembly. Did the mechanic say what was wrong with the distributor?