General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

*HELP* 94 Accord F22B2 Horrible Idle Issues-Repalced Many Parts-no luck

Old 10-13-2014, 02:16 PM
Default *HELP* 94 Accord F22B2 Horrible Idle Issues-Repalced Many Parts-no luck

Hey guys, I have a 1994 Honda Accord Lx with a JDM F22B2 Engine (replaced 3k miles ago). It has a horrible idle surge issue that won't seem to go away. I have been throwing parts and trying to diagnose for about 3 months now, and am at a complete loss of ideas as to what the culprit is

The problem occurs every time when cold cranking and throw a CEL code 14. Once it's warmed up I will shut off and crank the motor back up. The issue will usually stop for about 10-100 miles, then it will come back and act like it’s going in to limp mode all of a sudden. I will lose throttle response every 5 seconds off and on. It will then throw a code 14. What gets me is that I replaced the IACV twice and the pig tail once, but it still is throwing the same code 14...

I have bled the coolant numerous times, thinking it was just air in the system but I notice that air keeps coming into the system after warmed up and cooling fans come on. Below is a list of parts I have replaced or cleaned. Also, there is no coolant/oil mixture

Please help me fix this idle issue, as this is my only vehicle at the moment and have put too much money into it to give up.

Replaced (NEW):
* OEM IACV
* OEM FIV
* OEM MAP Sensor
* OEM Radiator/Thermostat/Water pump
* OEM Timing belt (installed by Honda, Timing is correct)
* OE replacement Dizzy cap
* NGK Spark Plugs & Wires
* NGK 02 Sensor
* OE Replacement EGR VALVE

Cleaned/Inspected:
* TB and the port going to IACV
* EGR Ports
* No Vacuum leaks
Compression Test:
Cyl. 1- 180 psi
Cyl. 2- 182 psi
Cyl. 3- 180 psi
Cyl. 4- 185 psi

Old 10-13-2014, 04:40 PM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

Code 14 is a fault in IACV circuit. That can mean faulty IACV, connector, wiring, or ECM.