General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

[Car Amateur] Honda Accord EX 99..Check Engine light Came ON

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2011, 06:28 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default [Car Amateur] Honda Accord EX 99..Check Engine light Came ON

I bought a 1999 Honda Accord one month back and everything is working fine. But suddenly while returning from office, as i started the car, the check engine yellow light came on and refused to go away like other lights.
I have no idea why it came on and why it does not go. I am a new driver and had never driven car before this one. So i am not knowledgeable about all this things.
What may be the reason ?
Anything to do with outside temperature ? The temperatures here in Dallas have dropped from the usual 24 degree Celsius to less than 12 degrees at night.
Please help as to what should be my plan of action ahead.

Old 10-19-2011, 06:51 PM
Super Moderator

Since you had a check engine light, go get the car read for trouble code(s) and post them on this site for more info.

Places like Autozone and Aamco should read the code(s) for no charge. Get the actual number codes, not just their description or opinion. Don't pay for a diagnostic when getting the code read at Aamco.

"http://www.aamco.com/Check_Engine_light_on-FREE_Check.asp"

Old 10-19-2011, 06:53 PM
Newest Of Newbies

Thanks for the super quick reply. I shall get this done asap and let everyone here know.

Old 10-21-2011, 10:09 AM
Newest Of Newbies

So i went to aamco today morning and they told they found two codes

P1456
P1738

He recommended the EVAP Test, trans pressure test for 2nd clutch application, electrical or mechanical

This is what was written in the receipt he gave me.

Please suggest what i should be doing now ?

Old 10-21-2011, 10:51 AM
Newest Of Newbies

Is there any other shop which does free diagnosis. I need to know a second opinion / quote.

Old 10-21-2011, 11:16 AM
Super Moderator