General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

02 Accord Balance shaft alignment problem

Old 09-06-2011, 11:54 AM
Default 02 Accord Balance shaft alignment problem

02 Accord SE 2.3L AT
Newbie here
I am doing a timing belt change and in the process I have removed the rear balance shaft pulley to change its gasket. And, no, I didn't have a lock on the shaft position when I removed the pulley.
Problem now is how to reinstall the balance shaft pulley to be correctly aligned with the rest of the engine and to also be aligned with a timing mark on the oil pan.
My understanding is that there is one hole in the balance shaft to lock it into place, but because of a gear reduction or step up, the pulley will not be in the same orientation as the last time the shaft is locked. So you really use 2 methods; the rear hole and the arrow/dot on the gear itself.
Now, because I have removed the balance shaft pulley, I can't use the timing marks on the oil pump housing.
I have tried looking at some of the old posts here but a lot of the sites referenced are no longer active.
Questions:
1. How does one go about getting the Balance shaft aligned with the rest of the engine? If the locking hole goes all the way through, how do I know which 1/2 revolution is correct? And if there is a gear reduction/step up, that could compound the issue.
How do you then get the balance pulley back on to align with the appropriate marks on the oil pump? I see a mark on one tooth of the pulley but not sure what it's supposed to line up with. If the shaft is held correctly in place (the BIG if) then I can align the mark on the pulley and whatever on the oil pump housing.

Thanks
Ed

Old 09-06-2011, 12:10 PM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

If you use 1/4" diameter locking bolt to lock the rear balance shaft, it will only go in fully in one position because the hole is slighlty off center.