General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

1987 Accord (carb.) Idle issues, intake? timing? cable?

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2014, 07:03 AM
Default 1987 Accord (carb.) Idle issues, intake? timing? cable?

So I took my car into a shop to have the water pump and radiator replaced (car never overheated, radiator crack was noticed immediately and water pump never went out but we knew it was starting to). I am new to the area so I didn't know where to take it... well, now I know where not to take it. They called to let me know that they "fixed my idle issue for me". I said okay, thanks, yes the cold idle was a touch high thank you for doing that. Then he said that I had an intake gasket leak and would need to get that fixed. I said yes, but it was pretty mild and wasn't causing any major issues with the car, but it was on my list to have done with my next big(ger) check (I am a college student, I work but my larger checks come four times a year when my scholarships pay). He later called back to say that he couldn't find a new gasket (um, okay, didn't ask you to, but thank you) but that he "cleaned off" the old one ... ?? I said, okay, thank you. I had to pick up the car after the shop closed so paid over the phone.

It died at the first stoplight. It also revved very high the next morning when the car was cold and unlike before where a tap of the accelerator would bring it down into the warm/low idle, a tap would just make it rev higher and stay there.

After I took the car back in, he said my car would need another $600-$700 in repairs if I wanted it to run smooth again, because the throttle cable was sticking and the intake leak was sucking too much air, which is why it was dying.