General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

93 accord stopped driving, can't figure this out

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2012, 12:52 PM
Default 93 accord stopped driving, can't figure this out

This is my first time posting here, and I have searched through this thoroughly to try and figure my problem out and nobody seems to have exactly what I do.

So, a few weeks ago I purchased my first Honda, a 93 accord with 130000 miles on it. When I purchased it everything seemed fine, I actually drove it from nj to Florida and back since then with no issue. Except, that since I got it the d4 light was blinking and when I put it into d4 to drive it seemed like the gears were not shifting smoothly, (and it is an automatic).

One day I was doing a short drive to the super market and was going 50 but the gears were not shifting, I was going 50 and the r.p.ms were going crazy, as if it was still in second. I thought that when I got home I'd figure out what was wrong before driving again, but did not make it home. As I pulled out of the parking lot everything seemed fine and I stopped at the exit and waited for traffic to pass, stepped on the gas and nothing. Nothing happened, as if I was in neutral. I put it in park to try and restart, but when I put it in park it started making a high pitched grinding sound. I turned it off and started again same thing.