General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

91 Accord Rad Fan problem + "Relay Module"

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2007, 07:29 PM
evilseth
Unregistered
Default 91 Accord Rad Fan problem + "Relay Module"

Hello,

I'm new to DIY stuff but catch on fairly quickly if you would be so kind as to help me. Ihave a 91 Accord (a Canadian one with DRL) that has been great, but has recently developed a problem. I bought the car used 9 years ago, the only issues with it were that the cruise control and DRL don't work (the light on the dash stays on unless you put the headlights on low or high). I've been told theseare relay issues, butthey arenot my main problem.

My current problem is that my rad fan will continue to fire off intermittently after I've turned the car off, sometimes for hours. It killed my battery and left me stranded once. I've been to two mechanics since this started and have thus far been charged various amounts of money for "fixes" that don't work - $80 for a new fan relay (the one in the underhood fuse box), $100 for both rad fan and cooling fan switches. I've now been told by a Honda dealer that the problem is either my Rad Timer Relay (located on the rad itself, though for the life of me, I can't find it), which he described as "unlikely," or my Relay Module, a part that my Haynes teardown/rebuild guide doesn't even mention and that I can't second source anywhere but with the Honda dealer for $260. He told me it's located in my driver's side kick panel by my fuse box. I think he's talking about my Main Relay, which as near as I know, is fine.

Can anyone tell me how to locate/identify this "Relay Module," and, if possible, how to replace it? Is it just a relay that I pull out and replace? Are my problems with the DLR and Cruise Control in any way related to this mystery module?