General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Big front brake conversion

Old 10-17-2016, 01:11 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Big front brake conversion

Hey hows it going guys Dan here 95 accord coupe EX 2.2 AT. I plan on swapping over to 98 CL knuckles (Rotor Over Hub conversion). Im considering swapping over to the 11in vtec 95 prelude rotors. Id also like to swap to dual piston 95 acura legend GS calipers. Ive spent hours reading forums and googling stuff and I am still left with questions that maybe someone with experience in doing a big brake swap or is more cultured with honda terms can answer as I am a GM mechanic and this is my first honda.

Which vehicles does a 23T caliper bracket come on? (preferably honda)

Will 23T caliper bracket work with 11in vtec 95 prelude rotors and dual piston 95 legend GS calipers?

The inconclusive researched ive gathered from various forums:
Half of the forums say this setup wont work half of them do

Some posts said when the outer pad gets low its at risk of falling out due to a larger gap between the rotor and caliper bracket from bigger/ upgraded components and the caliper piston could potentially over-extend itself and come out of the bore. Users suggested to either use a 25T bracket (V6 accord bracket?) and some suggested 28T bracket that comes with the legend caliper to avoid this issue, other posters said theyre never had this issue.

Another minor concern voiced was that the GS Legend rim size is 16 in and the accord has 15 in rims.

If my research is correct that the setup will work without issue ive priced it at $140.

Ive combed this entire forum and then some and have yet to find a thread of this magnitude. The most ambitious thread found and closest in comparison was hondafreak91c putting 05 RL calipers on his 96 and that was 3 years ago. https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/for...e-37932/page6/