General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Crankshaft oil seal tips/tricks/advice needed (92 Accord)

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2012, 06:49 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Question Crankshaft oil seal tips/tricks/advice needed (92 Accord)

Just wondering if there's any tricks or shortcuts that will help me replace the crankshaft oil seal on my son's 92 Accord EX w/automatic transmission?

I was quoted 1.3 hours labor for the cam seal, but did it myself in less than an hour pretty easily. I am a 300# heavy equipment mechanic with fat hands, so this small engine stuff is a bit cramped up for me, lol. The crank seal quote was nearly 7 hours so anything that will help me with that time is greatly appreciated.

This weekend I replaced the passenger side axle shaft assembly, right outer tir rod end, and the camshaft seal, but it looks like the oil leak was more from the crankshaft, than the cam seal...Not to mention I found an exhaust leak that's not repairable without replacing everything, worn front brake pads, swaybar bushings crumbling, and a bad right upper ball joint...can't believe it's in this bad of shape with only 132,000 miles..

Last edited by ysbarney; 10-14-2012 at 06:51 PM.
Old 10-14-2012, 08:12 PM
Super Moderator

I moved your thread from the DIY section to the General Tech Help section. Please read the forum rules and do not post help questions in the DIY section.

https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/for...l-about-26638/

Old 10-14-2012, 08:22 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Red face

Originally Posted by redbull-1
I moved your thread from the DIY section to the General Tech Help section. Please read the forum rules and do not post help questions in the DIY section.

https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/for...l-about-26638/
Actually...I did. Then still put it in the wrong forum, lol. Sorry.

Old 10-15-2012, 07:02 PM
Super Moderator

Well, age (92) as well as miles plays into things