General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Driver window rolls down, not back up in 96 accord

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2010, 11:43 AM
Red face Driver window rolls down, not back up in 96 accord

bascially, I have a 96 4-door Honda Accord and I've been having trouble with the drivers side window. It rolls down fine with no struggle at all but it doesn't roll back up. A couple weeks ago I noticed that it would roll down fine but struggle to roll back up (it would pause and then roll up very slowly, once rolled up there was a chemical smell i don't know if that matters but it smelled like a chemical gas). Now the window is rolled all the way down (in an attempt to see if rolling it all the way down would trigger something to make it roll all the way up lol) and it won't roll back up. I'm not a mechanical person and I don't really have time to take it to the mechanic so if anyone could help I would really appreciate it! All the other windows work perfect, the drivers side is the only one with problems. I might post again in DIY too but I need as much help as possible

Old 01-21-2010, 01:01 PM
Super Moderator

Here in General Tech is the best place for this. We're trying to make DIY into a library of procedures that are already written up. Not a question&answer forum.

Sorry, but I don't know the answer to your actual question. But it sounds like the window motor has burned out & you'll need to take the door apart to replace it.

Old 01-21-2010, 03:53 PM

Thanks Jim, that's what I thought I won't re-post.