General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Electrical problem with 2004 V6

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2010, 11:59 AM
Red face Electrical problem with 2004 V6

Hello,

I'm a newbie from Thailand. I love my 2004 V6 Accord and have 180,000 kilometers on it. I've got an electrical problem but so far the dealer has not been able to solve it and the computer shows no codes. He guesses it may be a problem with the multiplex, but since there are no computer codes showing, he said he doesn't want to replace multiplex yet. Here are the symptoms:

1. Sometimes when I turn on the headlights, the engine dies. I can restart with no problem.
2. Sometimes the headlights flicker.
3. A few times, when I'm on the highway and signaling to exit, I begin to brake and then the green drive ('D') light goes out for a second and I see the orange engine light flash. There is a click sound and the car hesitates for a second. Then, just as quickly all is back to normal.
4. Sometimes, when I'm on the highway and signaling to change lanes, the car hesitates for a second (for this case I'm not sure if the green drive light goes out or not) as I have not noticed.

Can anyone please give me any ideas as to what may be the problem. Thanks, in advance, for your help.

Finally, I think I've already said this, I love my 2004 V6 Accord.

Neal

Old 10-22-2010, 01:39 PM
Super Moderator

Can you get the car to stall out by just shaking the key?

Have you had the battery/alternator tested? Clean and tighten all ends of both battery cables?

Old 10-23-2010, 02:33 AM

Hi PAhonda,

Thanks for your reply.

About the key in the ignition, I've not been able to get it to stall that way.

About the battery/alternator, I've just replaced the battery to see if this would help the problem, but it's still the same. And, I had the mechanic check all connections to the battery already.