General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Help me on maintenance schedule...

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2012, 11:38 PM
Default Help me on maintenance schedule...

Hey all, I'm new to these threads(except for the blower issue posting) and recently misplaced my car owners manual and have questions regarding replacement schedules for certain parts. My car is a 1992 Honda Accord LX 5 spd with A/C and has 228,xxx miles and climbing. I am the third owner of the car and the last owner was my aunt/uncle and they gave me a record of what they had replaced on the car while they had it.

Timing Belt: The belt was replaced at 178,798 miles, the date of the replacement is unknown - I recently moved stuff around in my apt and I will find the records again - but I know for a fact the mileage is was replaced is correct within a few hundred miles - definitely replaced at 178,xxx which included all other related components - water pump, coolant, balancer belt, tensioner, etc. This car has sat for a few years before I purchased it with little to no use on it. Bought 3 years ago with 215,xxx miles on it. Is it time to replace it, or should I just get it done based on mileage, time sitting without use? I know the belt costs $28, water pump: $43.00 new or $30 reman, balancer belt: $20, but haven't gotten pricing for labor at my mechanic which charges $85 an hour.