General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

RPM Surging

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2006, 10:19 PM
Default RPM Surging

Hey guys, my first time at a forum...
I recently bought a 98, 2door accord and am in love with it ( as im sure most of us are )
I was wonderign if any1 can help me with my problem.
My miantenance required light came on just yesterday. Im a total noob but i did read the manual and figure out how to reset it and it went away,
oh btw, its 4 cyl 115000 miles EX 5 spd
the problem NOW is that when i start the car, in idle, the RPM surges up and down. Goes between 1000 to 2500 RPM just up and down.
from the ppl i asked they said that shouldnt happen after resetting the light.
please help..
brief history that MAY help, when i bought the car, the guy i bought it from rigged it to where the check engine light would never come on. apparently everytime i turn the car off, the "memory " would reset, as in the ac config woulf reset and the power locks wouldnt work with the car off, and i think the clock dint work. my friend, after **** loads of time looking, found a fuse, fixed it and now the engine light is on with an evap canister code. Based on evidence under the hood, it seems the guy had nos on the car, and remo ved the evap can to hold the nos cans... anyways. so yeh when my buddy did that thing with the fuse, the car was doing the same thing but it went away, and my O2 sensors came back on line ( did pass emissions cuz o2 sensors kept coming up not ready because of that fuse bypass or whatever the dude did).. anyways thats a brief history.. i knwo its long but relatively its still BRIEF :P
anyways so would anyone have had this issue before or know what could cause this kinda surge after resetting the maint. req. light?.

** update.. that fuse thingy i said which caused the check engine to stay off and not keep "memory " and keep the O2 sensors off line..