General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Overheating & Slow Leak from Radiator '97 Honda Accord LX

Old 01-23-2015, 05:01 AM
Default Overheating & Slow Leak from Radiator '97 Honda Accord LX

I've had problems with my radiator ever since taking it in for unrelated engine work a few years ago. It would overheat after driving 25-30 miles. There was also a problem with it overheating and losing water even after short distances.

I bought a new radiator and cap and this slowed down the overheating & leaking but I still have to keep an eye out. After driving 25-30 miles, the radiator needle moves toward the 12 o'clock spot. When I get home, the radiator smells and needs to be filled with water, and sometimes a lot of water!

I'm a novice and trying to diagnose problems before taking it in for service, or DYI if possible. This may be a very simple problem to fix but I just don't know.

Thanks for your help.

Old 01-23-2015, 06:01 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member

Welcome to the forum. We try to help each other here.

Since you say you don't know anything about cars, and your temp indicator is going to 12 o'clock overheat
during modest drive distances, and you have to keep driving it - you need to take it to a repair shop.

As a learning process, before/but especially after/ the repair is done, talk to the actual mechanic.
Listen to what he says and remember. Over the next few years of car ownership this
accumulated knowledge will give you ability to fix your own; doesn't happen overnight though.
Just start the process ... Best

My $0.02 - on the big picture.

Last edited by UhOh; 01-23-2015 at 06:07 AM.
Old 01-23-2015, 06:14 AM