General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Tell me experiences using flourescent dye and UV light to find small antifreeze leak

Old 08-20-2011, 11:49 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Tell me experiences using flourescent dye and UV light to find small antifreeze leak

94 Honda Accord LX 5 speed manual non VTEC no ABS

I have a very small antifreeze leak coming down left side of the oil filter, occurs only after car driven 10-15 minutes a small dripping continues for a few minutes after car turned off.

I am trying to pinpoint the source of the leak which first occured the next day after I did oil and filter change

People tell me to pressure test the radiator cold, but
I do not have a pressure tester, and to rent or buy one too expensive.

Therefore, I am considering buying the flourescent dye $4 and a UV light and glasses $28 to find this leak source

I have no experience with this flourescent dye technique wondering if this is a good means to find the source of my antifreeze leak

Anyone tell me about your experiences using the flourescent dye and UV glasses to find an antifreeze leak source

Thanks

Old 08-21-2011, 08:49 AM
Super Moderator

Never used it on/in coolant, don't see why it would be any different.

I thought that most of the time when you "rented" a tool, yu got your money back when you returned the tool?

Old 08-22-2011, 12:14 PM
Super Moderator

I think that's just a couple specific chain-stores like Autozone & Advance Auto. Call around...

Old 08-22-2011, 10:00 PM
Newest Of Newbies

I read some posts about antifreeze leaks which talked about lead from weep hole of the water pump back of the engine drivers side

I took another look at my Honda and found that weep hole. I felt it, and it has antifreeze leaking from it.

Seems like I finally found the source of my leak. Must been coming out at the water pump and somehow wrapping below the engine over to the oil filter.