General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Vibrating Steering wheel at idle/hard shifts

Old 01-20-2010, 07:11 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Vibrating Steering wheel at idle/hard shifts

Ok, so I am a noob here but I looked through all the posts that I thought would include this, but i couldnt find anything..

SO, I just picked up this 92 accord lx sedan. It runs pretty good for having almost 215k on the motor. I got from this elderly guy who barely drove it. He said that he put a new tranny in it 4 years ago (he has owned it for the the past 8 years) and had the timing belt changed at 120k. So this is the quick background.

I have just changed the sparkplugs (not the wires yet), I changed the valve cover gasket and the O-ring spark plug gaskets, and finally the oil.

Here are my issues:

1. At idle, the steering wheel vibrates. Not like, HOLY CRAP its gunna fall off, but just a small vibration that you can see in the steering wheel. Thats the best way I can describe that one.

2. When it shifts, you can really feel it. I would think if it were the original tranny it would shift sloppy. But the shift points are very obvious, almost a little on the hard side. You can feel a little bit of a jerk everytime it shifts. Again, thats the best way I can describe that.

3. When I press the break, sometimes the break pedal goes all the way to the floor, but if i let up just a little and then press again, there is normal break pressure. I WAS informed of this when I got the car, just figured I'd fix it when I got it.

So those are my major issues with the car. I know I've written a novel here but I want to give you the best description possible.

Thank you very much for reading!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Old 01-20-2010, 07:17 PM

both 1 and 2 sound like one or more loose motor mounts... you might try a search for motor mount and see if you can find info on checking/replacing them...