New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Honda Accord EX 2001 Dashboard Problem

Old 02-19-2017, 04:30 AM
Default Honda Accord EX 2001 Dashboard Problem

Hello,

I am newbie here. I recently replaced the bulbs in my dashboards with LEDs. After done, I noticed three problems:

1. SRS light remains on all the time
2. Tachometer stuck at starting point
3. D4 gear indicator does not light up (all other indicators are OK).

Could you help me troubleshooting these? I believe some of the connectors going to the dashboards are not making good connection after I removed the dashboard to replace the bulbs.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Old 02-19-2017, 04:38 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

Originally Posted by alex_lam
Hello,

I am newbie here. I recently replaced the bulbs in my dashboards with LEDs. After done, I noticed three problems:

1. SRS light remains on all the time
2. Tachometer stuck at starting point
3. D4 gear indicator does not light up (all other indicators are OK).

Could you help me troubleshooting these? I believe some of the connectors going to the dashboards are not making good connection after I removed the dashboard to replace the bulbs.

Thank you in advance for your help.
Were these problems present before you installed the leds? If not, you might need to swap them back to regular bulbs.

My son's 98 Civic had a check engine light on (after he swapped to leds), but no codes. He ended up changing it back to a standard bulb and the CEL light turned off (like it's supposed to). Just a thought, as leds draw less amperage than a standard bulb and the ECU might be looking for that extra resistance not found in the leds.

Old 02-19-2017, 07:32 PM

Thanks for your quick reply.

These problems were not present before I installed the LEDs.

Swapping them back to regular bulbs did not fix problems.

Old 02-20-2017, 11:07 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

Originally Posted by alex_lam