New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Just got myself my own accord with a slight prob

Old 01-11-2007, 11:40 PM
Default Just got myself my own accord with a slight prob

hey ppl im a high school student who lucked out on a nice '93 Accord. so far i only have a new muffler, alarm, and sony xplode system that all came with the car. (new to this car tuning stuff)

the downside is that i dont think myfuel efficiencyis very good at first i payed $15 on gas (it started on empty)and i had half a tank. after driving it the first one or two days i think maybe 16 miles or more and it was almost on empty! (the refuel lamp did not light up though)the mileage on the car is 151k miles but i was told by the small dealer that the engine was rebuilt (original I4 engine),so this has led me to believe one of a problems (but i know it is not limited to these of course)

1) the ecu was not resetted after the muffler was installed (maybe, not sure)
2) the fuel tank may have been switched and the car is still used to the old tank (not likely because i'm more than sure that the meter is moved by pressure in the tank, i may be wrong)
3) the seller lied to me and did not rebuild the engine (maybe)
4) the engine is too old! (most likely but im looking for an alternative plz)

I am sure i want to change the engine but i cant rite now because i am saving up for it lol, if anyone has suggestions on what the problem might be plz tell me i dont want to resort to having engine problems so bad that i need a new engine. like i said i want to change the engine when i can get enough money to get it and install. my uncles a mechanic but it may take a while since hes usually busy. plz help!
ps: sry for the long post

Old 01-12-2007, 02:26 AM
19Accord97
Unregistered
Default RE: Just got myself my own accord with a slight prob