New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Newbie w/1996 Accord EX Coupe, 5 Spd

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2011, 12:05 AM
Wink Newbie w/1996 Accord EX Coupe, 5 Spd

hi yas!! i'm a newbie here to this forum and looking to enjoy myself w/my new found honda friends while in pursuit of my goal of turning my lil ol car into something i can be proud to ride around in. ok, to start off i guess i should say that i have little to no knowledge when it comes to car lingo so bear w/me pls. i will learn and make a good attempt at getting a grasp at what's going on.

alright, well i was in a front end collision in oct 2010. i have a mechanic working w/me to get some repairs done. i need the airbags replaced, radiator replaced, my car makes a squealing noise when i'm accelerating in first and second gear so he thinks it's the clutch assembly that needs replacing. my left light has a short. my driver door won't open from the interior handle. the driver window is slow to go up. ac works but isn't the greatest. weather stripping? is torn. paint chipped and faded from sun damage i guess? battery corrosion. power steering pump leak but mechanic said he could fix it. bumper bar needs fixing or replacing? idk everything the mechanic told me, but as you can see, i have some things that need to be done to get my car running well.

so.... after all is fixed, what i'd really like to do is update it. i've seen some pics and vids of engine work, all those colorful things that make the car sound great. idk what those are. i think i get good gas mileage. i'd like to keep it that way or improve on it if it's possible. i want it to sound like a deep roar. install some 212's. get a body kit. paint her up pretty. kinda tossing around the idea of racer seats or just re-upholstering w/leather. digital screen to control music and idk dvd?