Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos All charged talk about going FAST.

Questions about boosting a 6th gen

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2007, 10:04 PM
Default Questions about boosting a 6th gen

So I decided that I/H/E and those simple bolt ons weren’t going to be what I was looking for in my car. I was looking into the H22 swap or the head change, but I don’t think I’m going to be able to do that. So I have a whole bunch of questions about boosting a 2000 EX with a F23A4. I’ve heard that the F series can handle boost pretty well. Mine has 133,000 miles however. I’m not looking to do anything too extreme though. I want more horsepower, but I don’t need 200+. I’m looking at doing 6psi. (How do you set the psi on a turbo anyhow?) As you can see I’m a noob at turbo stuff. So with low boost and good maintenance will I be ok? This car is a daily driver and I don’t want it to leave me sit somewhere.
I was also thinking I could just get another F23A1 and use that for the boost and then have the original as a back up. Would I be able to just drop the A1 in place of the A4. Has anyone done this in here? Is there anything I’d need to change? Is the ECU programmed for U-LEV or will this matter? This is something I would really like to avoid though. If I could just use the engine that’s already in there that would be great.