Living in Buffalo is an Adventure - Page 3 - Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums


Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #21  
Old 11-29-2014, 09:38 AM
poorman212's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 11,485
Default

Nice view.

Do you have a generator? I only ask because I've been thinking about getting one installed.

Glad everyone is doing well.

"Mystic" - did all or most of that stuff melt?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-29-2014, 11:01 AM
shipo's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Posts: 1,900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poorman212 View Post
Nice view.

Do you have a generator? I only ask because I've been thinking about getting one installed.

Glad everyone is doing well.

"Mystic" - did all or most of that stuff melt?
A generator? Kinda-sorta.

Last year before my wife and I downsized by selling our huge house and moving into a "caretaker apartment" on a horse farm I had a generator setup which back-fed the 240V dryer circuit (which by definition feeds both 120V sides of the breaker panel). I would click off the 200 Amp service from the street, fire up the generator, and then click on the breaker for the dryer. The generator allowed us to run the entire house except the A/C and the stove/oven. That said, my well was something like 1,000' deep, and while the generator had enough push to operate the well pump while the rest of the house was running, I usually opted to shut the well down (we had a 400 gallon reserve cistern in the basement with a jet pump for pressure) and only click it on during the middle of the night to refill the cistern.

Here on the horse farm they have a generator, however, they've opted to only include a few circuits in both the main house and in our apartment. In our case, the *only* circuit which is live while running on generator is the bathroom; I need to run an extension cord to keep the refrigerator running. Yesterday we unplugged the refrigerator for a short while and plugged in a waffle iron; damn those waffles tasted good.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-30-2014, 10:26 AM
Almost A Senior Member
Thread Starter

 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Orchard Park NY USA
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poorman212 View Post
Nice view.
"Mystic" - did all or most of that stuff melt?
All back to normal for us since Sunday last week. No power outage thank God. A lot melted and damage to yard and vehicles is minimal. Needed to pay the roof guy to shovel the roof, small scratch in the side of the Dodge from the snow blower.
Also 55 degrees today, I washed the car outside.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-30-2014, 11:02 AM
poorman212's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 11,485
Default

Glad it all worked out for you. Watched the news and knew it could have gone a far different direction, so again glad you/family came out ok.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-30-2014, 09:36 PM
live2rice's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,685
Default

New Hampshire now that's a good place to live
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-30-2014, 10:07 PM
shipo's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Posts: 1,900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by live2rice View Post
New Hampshire now that's a good place to live
You bet'cha.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-25-2014, 08:09 PM
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 731
Default

Funny, I'm in Syracuse and we were expecting to get a bit of that snow... nothing at all. It's nice when big storms hit and everything shuts down. Even now, theres almost no snow. It all melted.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-26-2014, 07:14 AM
Almost A Senior Member
Thread Starter

 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Orchard Park NY USA
Posts: 262
Default

Robinson,
Most folks around the country don't understand "Lake Effect Snow". When the conditions are right, a 4 mile x 15 mile swatch might get 4-5 feet, where north and south might get zero. Kind of a nasty joke by Mother Nature.
More years than not lately, Lake Erie is not freezing, so the chances of bad storms are increasing.
From what I understand Lake Ontario doesn't freeze, ever. Right?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-27-2014, 08:02 PM
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 731
Default

Nope. It's too deep though. That why Oswego gets hit a lot worse. Of course buffalo is in between the two lakes, we're just below lake ontario. So it only gets bad if we get Canada 'pushing' storms down south.

Last edited by RobinsonRicer; 12-27-2014 at 08:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-09-2015, 05:59 PM
poorman212's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 11,485
Default

Looks like time to get the snow blower out again
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VSA works well in Buffalo snow gcleeton Off Topic 0 01-10-2009 10:35 PM
What Do You Do For A Living? JkillaAcc02 Off Topic 86 05-15-2008 04:02 AM
My excellent track day adventure HondaNewbie New Member Area 6 03-27-2007 07:40 PM
Buffalo, NY Snowstorm - Honda Worked Great!!! Amtrak288 General Tech Help 3 10-14-2006 08:41 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.