South West AZ, TX, NM, OK

The belt minder wants to die

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2013, 10:40 PM
Default The belt minder wants to die

First, please spare me the seatbelts save lives spiel. My wife was Tboned several years ago in her BMW325 by a drunk 18 year old.....and because she wasn't wearing her seatbelt she's alive today no worse for the wear of that accident. I myself was saved when not wearing one (it's a long story, so you get the jist) Drivers should have choice in my m ind, however passengers definately need to wear one.

All that being said, I'm a driver and I'm sick of that thing this the first day I own it. I've had other vehicles, like a Lincoln Aviator that you could turn them off with a series random acts. Can that be done on my 2005 Accord EXL V6 with Navi?

Thanks

Old 06-29-2013, 12:06 AM

in a side-impact collisions I suppose I could see how not being restrained would help survivability, but I fail to see how ignoring the only thing keeping your face from slamming into the steering wheel would be a good idea in any other kind of crash.
my father hit a freeway barrier sideways in an 06 EX V6, seatbelt saved his life.
sounds more like random chance to me. Wearing a seatbelt prevents your flailing body parts from slamming into your passengers in the event of a collision, but anything else that isn't restrained is similarly dangerous in a car.
that being said, there are leads under the seats that connect to the seatbelt buckles and (i believe) make contact when the metal prong is inserted, disabling the noise. there will be a large number of them on your car if you have any other seat options since there's the weight sensor that disables the airbag, heated seats, power seat motors, etc... but you could probably just clip the leads and solder them together.
Stay safe.

Old 06-29-2013, 02:04 AM
Administrator