Tires & Wheels What wheels are you rollin' around on? Discuss wrapping your rims in here.

Rear wheel can't be aligned... do I need a new camber bolt?

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2009, 05:55 PM
pelargir
Unregistered
Default Rear wheel can't be aligned... do I need a new camber bolt?

Hey, need some advice here. I've taken my V6 Accord EX by Merchant's for an alignment and three of the wheels are green, but the fourth wheel (left rear) is out of camber by -1.0 degrees. The tech said they've adjusted it as far as they can go but the wheel is still out of alignment. As I recall, he said I needed a new camber bolt and quoted $150 to fix it. That seems high to me.

My question: is the most likely problem that I just need a longer bolt? Or could it be something else? If the problem is the bolt, is replacing it something I can do myself? I'm not an uber mechanic by any means, but I can change my oil, swap out the alternator and water pump, replace belts, etc.

Thanks for any tips you can provide. A tutorial page about how to do this would be great. I'm going to check my Hanes manual, but I don't expect to get much help there.

Old 05-04-2009, 06:27 PM

Nah that price is about right. The rear usually uses a arm called a easy arm, or camber arm. They are usually priced at 80 to 120 a piece and then you add in about 30 minutes of labor, which at my job is about 35 dollars. So 150 is around normal price at a repair shop. If your talking about the front I know my honda takes adjustable upper ball joints, which would probably be more in labor, and around the same price as the rear camber arms. Try looking on ebay for part you need, then get a buddy (if possible to replace part needed. Then all you have to do is get it lined back up which in the end will be alittle cheaper.

Old 05-04-2009, 07:54 PM
pelargir
Unregistered
Default More info...