Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   Audio/Visual Electronics (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-10/)
-   -   2005 Honda Accord radio does not work? (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-10/2005-honda-accord-radio-does-not-work-44612/)

gammy999 12-22-2011 07:49 PM

2005 Honda Accord radio does not work?

This seems to be a known problem. At first the car would turn off and leave the radio display on (i.e. station number, etc;) but no sound...I pulled the #5 fuse put it in...this would fix it and work for a few days then it would happen again. Eventually, the radio stopped working. The cd light stays green (i.e. means a cd is in the bay) and the display would light up but with no info and no sound. Looking for ideas.

poorman212 12-23-2011 08:13 AM

I'm not good with radio issues...moved this in hopes of getting a better answer.

TexasHonda 12-23-2011 08:17 AM

No easy fix here. This is now a complex system w/ it's own diagnostic codes and procedures. Suggest you purchase a Honda shop manual from ebay seller automanualsource for $21.99. The manual has diagnostics for virtually every condition to source the problem.

Alternatively, you can use the manual to replace the radio like/like w/ used unit from salvage yard (check car-part.com for sources). Looks like $150 should get a good unit.

good luck

keep_hope_alive 12-23-2011 04:34 PM

Honda Accord 2003+ Dash & Wiring Harness Kit (Lower) [Ai] - American International - HONK823H

Best option is to use this kit to install an aftermarket in the lower pocket. Result will be modern features and better sound.

The_Day 01-06-2012 06:30 PM

A similar problem