Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   Audio/Visual Electronics (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-10/)
-   -   2013 Accord LX Speaker Upgrade (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-10/2013-accord-lx-speaker-upgrade-58434/)

David Medina 03-04-2014 06:30 PM

2013 Accord LX Speaker Upgrade

This is my first post, so please be patient with me. I have been driving 6 speaker Toyota Camry's for the past 15 years, and found their sound systems to be adequate.

When I test drove the 2013/4 Accord LX, the audio system sounds poor. I purchased the car anyway, with the anticipation of upgrading the speakers.

I do not wish to spend too much money, nor over accessorize this vehicle that I wish to keep close to stock.

Thus, I believe I wish to simply change the speakers, while maintaining the factory head unit, and prefer not to add an amp.

Based on my research, both on line, and in stores, I am leaning toward lower end sets of Focal speakers (Access or Integration line); components in front, coaxes in the back. I should have them professionally installed; being both a novice and perfectionist, doing it myself would be torture.

I have the 5 questions that I would appreciate feedback on:

1. I get different vastly different opinions on what "fits". Crutchfiled is very conservative, and severely limits my selection. However, most local dealers say they will get any 6.5" set to fit clean, "I promise you".

2. Should I pay the $40 to $60 to use the EX+ tweeter sail panels? My installers give me mixed advice. Plus, I have read that when the EX sail panels are placed on an LX or Sport, the fit is not perfect. The Focal tweeters are pretty bright so I am mostly concerned with esthetics.