Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

amp remote wire to ignition

  #1  
Old 12-03-2010, 04:50 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 2
Default amp remote wire to ignition

Ok first hello I'm new here.

My wife has a 2010 Accord Sedan. I want to install an amp and sub.
I have installed a few before but always with an after market stereo.
Hers if a stock stereo. I don't want to put in a new one because money is tight.
Can I splice the remote wire into the ignition wire at the fuse box?
Or is there a better way? I'm not that good at wiring so any info you guys can provide is cool. Maybe even some pics if possible.

Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 12-03-2010, 05:17 PM
TexasHonda's Avatar
Super Moderator : And A Texan
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 9,651
Default

There may be a spare fuse/circuit available at the fuse box. You need a wiring daigram to check. Check autozone manual for late model Accords, probably hasn't changed.

You could then attach your own lead and do a professional job.

good luck
 
  #3  
Old 12-03-2010, 05:34 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks. She's still at work I'll check the fuse box when she gets home.
 
  #4  
Old 12-04-2010, 12:04 AM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

i don't like using an ignition wire - you could have a situation where the HU is off and the amp is on - which is bad. you can have sub pops when you start the car, etc. due to the amp being on when the HU isn't. those pops are damaging.

buy an amp with high level inputs and auto turn-on. JL slash series amps have that feature (and they are good amps). Match it with a JL sub and you can't go wrong.
 
  #5  
Old 12-04-2010, 12:05 AM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

you could also look to see if the car has a factory amp, in which case you can tap the factory turn-on wire.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jdubicki
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
04-16-2008 08:30 PM
magiconthetire
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
12-11-2007 09:13 PM
HONDA90
Engine & Internal
13
10-01-2007 10:54 AM
2.2ex965spd
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
03-18-2007 02:02 AM
2007accord
Audio/Visual Electronics
6
02-14-2007 12:57 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: amp remote wire to ignition


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.