Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   Audio/Visual Electronics (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-10/)
-   -   How To Install a Subwoofer (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-10/how-install-subwoofer-3996/)

Rodzilla 07-12-2006 05:56 PM

How To Install a Subwoofer

I plan to buy a 12" Pioneer subwoofer, along with one of those do-it-yourself subwoofer boxes, but don't know what to do in terms of installation. Here is how my current set up is:

Sony Xplod GT300 head unit (52 watts x 4)

Stock front speakers

Pioneer 220w 6x9s on the back

What else will I need to install a sub? Will I HAVE TO buy an amplifier? Also, seeing as how there are no available wires, how the heck am I gonna connect one to the sub? Oh, and how is the sub gonna get its electricity?

Please help me on this, as I am a complete noob when it comes to car audio installation. Remember, I have a 2000 Sccord LX sedan. Any installation tips, guidelines or instructions would be completely welcome. Thanks.

stevephy 07-13-2006 11:54 AM

RE: How To Install a Subwoofer

O.K., lets start with the headunit. How many outputs does it have? Front/rear/subwoofer? Front/rear? Does it have high-level outs? These are things you can find in your owners manual. The outputs are what sends signals to an external amplifier.

The sub and box comes next. Unless the box has an amp, or the subwoofer is self-powered, you'll need one of each. It doesn't sound like it's either.

Typically you have a sub, an enclosure and an amplifier.

When you are looking at an enclosure make sure that it is proper for the subwoofer. Some subs are for sealed, ported or bandpass enclosures.

When you are looking at an amplifier make sure it can be utilized for a subwoofer. See if it has a high-level in for the signal.