Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   Audio/Visual Electronics (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-10/)
-   -   Newbie, need suggestion on improving car sound (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-10/newbie-need-suggestion-improving-car-sound-47062/)

akalmand 04-23-2012 09:06 PM

Newbie, need suggestion on improving car sound

Hi All,

I am a newbie to this forum as well as trying to work on my car. I have 2006 Honda Accord EX model without dual climate control & navigation. I want to upgrade my car audio. I am not an enthusiast but just looking to have much cleaner and crisper sound coming from my car speakers. I have done some research at crutchfield and figured out that changing the head unit and front speakers are the most important thing in improving car audio.

So, I have already ordered Kenwood KDC x696 from crutchfield and will install it over this weekend.

Next thing on the agenda will be upgrading the stock factory speakers.I would need some recommendations on getting some decent speakers for the front. I would also need some guidance on how to properly install them. I have been reading on various forums that installing the speakers proper way are quite important to getting the benefit of better speakers. So my questions to you are :-

1. Any suggestions for front mounted speakers in $150-180 price range.
a. Any coaxial speakers that would be close to components speakers - I have been looking at polk audio db 651s (fits the accord according to crutchfield), JL audio has some coaxial speakers in 150 price range but I dont know if they would fit.
b. If I use coxial speakers, can I leave factor tweeters installed as is. What are the pros and cons.