Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   Audio/Visual Electronics (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-10/)
-   -   What is the RMS of the 2006 OEM 6 CD deck (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-10/what-rms-2006-oem-6-cd-deck-12890/)

bginvestor1 09-30-2007 12:29 PM

What is the RMS of the 2006 OEM 6 CD deck

What is the RMS per channel of the 2006 OEM 6 CD deck? Thanks!

t00fatt 09-30-2007 11:44 PM

RE: What is the RMS of the 2006 OEM 6 CD deck

If I remember correclty 15-17watts RMS per channel.

smaglik 10-02-2007 10:56 AM

is it that high?

t00fatt 10-02-2007 12:43 PM

For a stock system I don't know, but for an after marfket system that is very low. My amp gives my speakers 60watts RMS. Also another thing I think I remember but I could be wrong as I'm no expert on speakers. The larger the magnet on the speaker the more power you need to make those speakers play as loud as another pair with smaller magnets. The stock speakers have tiny magnets and my JLs have huge magnets, but the stock speakers are only a little quieter then my JLs despite having four times the power. So if you plan on running after market speakers that have a higher then 20RMS rating they are going to be even quieter then the stock speakers. So you might want to get an amp to go with some new speakers.

smaglik 10-02-2007 12:49 PM

interesting...when i replaced my speakers (only the speakers), they didnt get any louder, and i really didnt expect them to. the sound quality did improve however...

Thumper26 10-03-2007 03:57 PM

hm, not sure i agree on the magnet statement. a lot of times magnet is more a function of design. if it had tiny neo magnets, they'd be stronger than the ceramics, for example.

the sensitivity rating of the speaker is best indicator of how much louder/quieter it will be than another speaker.