Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/)
-   -   99 Accord LX Engine Knocking (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/99-accord-lx-engine-knocking-54135/)

elijahpr 04-08-2013 01:36 PM

99 Accord LX Engine Knocking

Here's a link to the video I made that can give a better visual than what I can put into words. It seems to have appeared this winter. I ziptied the loose brake lines (thanks for a stellar job, Sears :rolleyes:) and inspected the heat shields, but it's still there.

Any ideas? Someone suggested it's the harmonic balancer, and someone else said it could be an engine bearing. I hope not!

There seems to be a slight performance loss, but it could just be me. I'm not very good at gauging those things.

Going to try to get it to the local dealership so I can pay them $110 to look at it soon.

Link:

Please ignore the other videos haha. Thanks!

RobinsonRicer 04-08-2013 04:12 PM

Sounds like knocking. Do a vacuum test before paying anyone. Or pay someone. Just not the dealer. Anyone but the dealer.

elijahpr 04-08-2013 06:34 PM

I really really don't want to pay anyone to do anything haha. $110 to look at something makes me want to vomit.

What's the best way to do a vacuum test? The only ones I've seen are with carberator fluid, but that stuff is highly flammable and it would make me nervous to put it in my running engine.

TexasHonda 04-08-2013 06:54 PM

I hear two noises;

1) a regular tapping that sounds like a valve (adjust valves).

2) a rattling, shaking sound that sounds like a rotating bearing issue; ac compressor idler, altenator, PS. Suggest removing accessory belts; PS then AC/Alt belts to see if you can isolate source of this sound.

good luck

elijahpr 04-08-2013 10:07 PM