Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/)
-   -   Bypass o2 sensor? (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/bypass-o2-sensor-28491/)

Senior Taco 10-08-2009 08:54 PM

Bypass o2 sensor?

First off hi all :D im new to the forums and new to Honda's. Let me first say this is my first Honda, and i absolutely love it :P what a fun little car. Ive got my self a 99 Accord EX 2.3L 4 cyl (F23A1) with a 5 speed and 122k miles on it i just poped out the wheel bearing put in a new one thing rolls around like its brand new now no problems with anything (i hope to post pics and vids soon enough).

Well I am looking to build my f23 for some power (hopefully a turbo eventually but not going to go over 7psi for any reason) I want to say first off im no mechanic and i dont pretend to be. I am however decent at reverse engineering and ive got alot of common sense so I am pretty good at doing just about anything on it by my self, just by doing my research and reading manuals, forums, asking friends with real experience, etc. Currently i am working on putting a test pipe in but the dreaded check engine light has gone off :*( . I know why though the o2 sensor that belongs in my cat is not hooked up. Now I know you can trip an o2 sensor by wiring in a resistor. I read some where about a guy successfully doing this on his 5th gen prelude with a 10 Mega ohm 1/4 watt resistor, I figured (and figured wrong at that) that i could get this same resistor and throw it on the o2 sensor with out a problem... WRONG, lol it worked fine at first but after a little while of driving the lower range 1k~2.3kish rpm the engine starts to sputter and back fire alot (works fine in the high end though) i assume the resistor is wrong and the engine is miscalculating the fuel air ratio, it started out fine and