Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/)
-   -   A couple bothersomes. Need input. (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/couple-bothersomes-need-input-11590/)

dasjestyr 08-07-2007 08:04 PM

A couple bothersomes. Need input.

Im actually kinda new to hondas so im wondering if you have any input on any of these few issues. 1998 Accord EX v6 auto;

- I just noticed that when i put the key into accessories or even start the car, the check engine light comes on and blinks about 11 times then goes out and never comes on again until the car is off and i put it in accessory or start it. I dunno if this is new or not, i just noticed it. No real noticable performance degradation otherwise. I know all the lights come on to test, but i didnt the check engine light should blink, and if it isnt supposed to blink, why does it go out?

- I also started noticing a bit of a burnt rubber smell outside the forward part of the car but I cant seem to locate the source. No its not the tires lol. The belts are starting to squeak a bit but it didnt seem like the smell was coming from there although it might actually be. The only thing i can think of in the engine compartment that would make that smell are the belts, but wanted to make sure i wasnt missing something.