Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/)
-   -   Engine noise on 2002 Accord V-tec (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/engine-noise-2002-accord-v-tec-5574/)

nyclocoengineer 10-21-2006 02:22 PM

Engine noise on 2002 Accord V-tec

Hi there Group Folks! I'm a newbie here with a question I hope someone can help me with... I bought a 2002 Accord 5 spd from a young lad who drove it kind of hard. It had 40,000 miles on the clock and was really clean. It has a 4 cyl vtec motor and runs like a raped ape but I have noticed a noise of late and my wrench says he thinks it's coming from the mid section of the motor. The noise sounds like "pinging" when under acceleration when cold. It goes away considerable when it warms up and sometimes I don't here it at all. The wrench ruled out a loose heat shield and the timing is ok. The previous owner stated that he changed the oil every 7500 miles weather it needed it or not!!! It was his first car and he didn't know better. Had I known that before I bought the car I might not have bought it. I've changed the oil every 2000 miles since I got it and it has 54000 miles on it now. Any ideas??? Thanks in advance for any help! :-) John

sir_nasty 10-21-2006 02:32 PM

RE: Engine noise on 2002 Accord V-tec