Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/)
-   -   MPG (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/mpg-5963/)

dream34 11-15-2006 06:35 PM

MPG

I just got an auto 96 Accord, and first thing I did was filled it up, after I drove to completely to E I filled it up to figure out the MPG I'm getting. It was only 18 mpg, and I was expecting much more. It was mostly city but some highway, and I'm actually a pretty good driver when it comes to saving gas (anticipating stops, not flooring it, coasting, etc). Do you guys think I need a tune up or that it's exactly what I should be expecting?

sir_nasty 11-15-2006 06:51 PM

RE: MPG

that seems low.... I've got a 94 ex with the 2.2L Vtec and I get 26-28 (manual 5 speed), check your basics, air filter, spark plugs, wires, oil etc and make sure those items are in good working order, you could also run a bottle of fuel injector cleaner through there and some sea foam (search the forum if you haven't heard about it) wouldn't hurt either.... so there's some options!

YeuEmMaiMai 11-15-2006 07:03 PM

i had a 94 that got 25-26 around town and 34 HWY. unless you are jack rabbit start all the time, something is wrong

t-stat?
o2 sensor?
leaky injector(s)
TQ converter not locking up? (should in 3rd and 4th if you are auto)

wrote down wrong starting milage?

poser_pilot6 11-15-2006 08:41 PM

I usually get 22-24 mpg in my car, but I drive 98% of my miles in town, and I kinda drive like an A-hole most of the time. Last time I took it cross country I averaged 27.3, doing 85 most of the trip (2200 miles or so). But Im sure my engine could use some tuning also.

accordfan222 11-15-2006 10:44 PM