General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

94 Accord CV Axle repair

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2012, 03:25 PM
Question 94 Accord CV Axle repair

I have been hearing a clicking in my car's front wheels for the past several years. It has been getting really bad over the past year. I finally took it in to have new CV Axles installed. The shop told me that I am looking at a long list of problems that will cost me $1200 or more to fix. My car is not even worth that much. They told me that the car is not safe and should be parked.
Is there any way I can patch this car up to make it last a couple of more years for $500 or less? I really don't want to look for a new vehicle right now.
I'll post more details of the problems after I pick the car up tonight.

Old 02-16-2012, 03:58 PM
Super Moderator

If you replace the axles your self you are looking at about $160 for both axles, maybe $15 for axles seals, and maybe $20 or $40 for transmission fluid. But the axles are by no means a fun job to do, and do require some special tools.

Old 02-16-2012, 11:06 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

Originally Posted by nebulabass
I'll post more details of the problems after I pick the car up tonight.
looking for your list.

I had a Nissan and drove it for ~20,000 miles with the CV's going out; sounds much like you.

Old 02-16-2012, 11:36 PM

Originally Posted by live2rice
If you replace the axles your self you are looking at about $160 for both axles, maybe $15 for axles seals, and maybe $20 or $40 for transmission fluid. But the axles are by no means a fun job to do, and do require some special tools.
replacing the axles is pretty basic (well to me I guess)

No real special tools needed, just need...

A strong inpact wrench (plus big air compressor)
36 mm deep socket
ball joint fork
large pry bar
propane torch (I find it much easier to remove the ball joints after heating them up)