General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need some help

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2010, 11:02 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Need some help

hey guys, just picked up a 94 accord lx for $300 dollars for a project car

pretty much in good shape but has some issues, ive worked on civics and integras so im a noob to accords and electrical in general.

first, you have to stick some sort of key into the keyhole by the shifter to get it out of park, checked the brake switch and it is fine so any suggestions?

also, none of the power windows work, none of the guages work (rpm's, odometer, mph, fuel guage, temp) and only the high beams turn on, not low beams.

checked fuses and they are fine, maybe a ground wire came loose? all seems like its one problem causing all of this

any suggestions would help

thanks alot guys

Old 06-15-2010, 11:36 PM
Super Moderator

You can download a 94 shop manual from the spooner link I posted in the Online Manuals thread in the DIY section. It will show all of the grounds in the car that you can clean and tighten. Some are easy to get to, others will be difficult.

Did you check the fuses in both the engine bay fuse box and the one under the driver's dash?

The shifter is part of the interlock system. If you remove the center console, the solenoid should have two wires going to it. The yel wire should have 12V to body ground with the key in the II position. The green wire should have ground when the car is in park.

You will have to find out if the + or - side of the circuit is messed up, then work backwards.

As for the headlights, I would make sure the bulbs aren't burned out. See if you have 12V on one wire (headlight switch turned on), and ground on the black? wire (should have ground all the time). Next would be the input at the relay. Can give you more details.

Old 06-15-2010, 11:43 PM
Newest Of Newbies