General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Ignition switch or cylinder?

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2014, 10:09 AM
Default Ignition switch or cylinder?

Hello all. I am very new at this, so thank you in advance for your time and patience! I have a 2003 Accord Ex. A while back a friend of mine (in a drunken state) attempted to repeatedly cram his girlfriend's key into my ignition thinking he was starting her car. Now my key will go into the ignition but it takes several tries to get it to turn over. Do I need to purchase a whole new cylinder or just the lock switch (please correct me if I am not using the proper terminology)? Also will this come with the key or do I need to have it re keyed? I am trying to to this on a budget.

Old 04-14-2014, 10:57 AM
Super Moderator

If you're having difficulty turning the key, then it would be the lock cylinder. Maybe it'll help to work some graphite into there. Otherwise, you can have a locksmith look at it.

If you buy a new lock-cylinder, then it'll have a different key than the doors & trunk. If you get a locksmith, I think he can re-key a new cylinder to match your same key.

If the key turns OK but the engine doesn't "turn over" then you're looking at the electrical part of the switch, or some other problem that seems unrelated to your friend working with the wrong key.

Old 04-14-2014, 02:54 PM

Originally Posted by JimBlake
If you're having difficulty turning the key, then it would be the lock cylinder. Maybe it'll help to work some graphite into there. Otherwise, you can have a locksmith look at it.

If you buy a new lock-cylinder, then it'll have a different key than the doors & trunk. If you get a locksmith, I think he can re-key a new cylinder to match your same key.