General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HID Headlight Bulbs

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2006, 03:40 AM
Fastxpl
Unregistered
Default HID Headlight Bulbs

Hey, I'm new to the Honda Forum. My wife came home with a burnt out headlight on her 02 Accord V6. I did a search for HID but didn't find anything that answered my questions so I thought I would post and see if anyone has any input.

I bought a set of HID (Blue) bulbs for my Suburban a year or so ago but never installed them. When she got home this evening, I pulled the burnt one out and compaired it to the Burb bulb. They look exactly the same so I put it in and tried it. Works fine but I noticed the wattage on the HID is quite a bit more than the stock one that came out, not to mention the color of the light. I replaced both fronts for now with the HID while I do some investagiting to see if anyone is using the HID bulbs and what their results have been. Any input would be appreciated.

Old 08-05-2006, 01:15 PM
Default RE: HID Headlight Bulbs

One thing is certain, make sure that the cables/wires that supply power to the light are able to handle the extra current.

If they draw extra power the cables you use now may fail (fire).

I know that auto-part stores have high-current cables you can use, but I would try to investigate your components first to make sure everything is safe.

StevePhy

Old 08-05-2006, 05:56 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

yea those high wattage "hid" bulbs are crap. they can damage the wiring, and they usually go out much faster than the stocks because of the extra heat. you should look into getting a real hid system if you want the ultimate.