Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   General Tech Help (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/general-tech-help-7/)
-   -   Engine Knock (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/general-tech-help-7/engine-knock-7672/)

imjrk 02-18-2007 01:59 PM

Engine Knock

I have a '96 Accord, VTech, automatic, with 142k. Using synthetic oil and Fram TG oil filter every 5k, or less. Changed out the starter and within 30 miles it started knocking really bad. I am sure it had nothing to do with the starter replacement, but I just mention it to cover all the bases. The knocking sound seems to be coming from the upper area of the engine over the second cylinder from the drivers side. I pulled the valve cover and ran it, but could not determine exactly what is making the knocking sound. Yes, there is oil spraying out as it is running. I have no experience with Vtech engines so any and all advice would be appreciated. Think it is a valvetrain problem? Or is this the sound it makes if the cam belt jumps a cog and the valve hits the top of the piston? I do not know, but am just grabbing at straws. Thank You

hondadude 02-18-2007 02:16 PM

RE: Engine Knock

Do you know if the T-belt was ever changed?
You should be able to remove the upper timing cover and the valve cover, then rotate the engine to #1 TDC ....#1 cam lobes will be at 4'O'clock and 7 'O'clock. Then look at the face of the cam pulley for 2 slash marks that line up with the top of the head, when the crank pulley is at the white TDC mark
Also look at the T-belt for missing teeth, usually though the engine would be running very rough if at all.

YeuEmMaiMai 02-18-2007 02:28 PM

just ot be on the safe side, drian your oil and make SURE that there are no metal flakes in it....

imjrk 02-18-2007 03:03 PM