General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Slight clunking from front suspension

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2006, 10:19 PM
Default Slight clunking from front suspension

Hi there-

I'm having a slight problem... when ever I go over ever so slightly unlevel road (think uneven blacktop in an apartment parking lot) I get what seems to be rattling noises and some clunking from my front suspension. On some of the more uneven ground I can "feel" the clunk with my clutch foot when it's on the foot rest. I threw a new set of Sway Bar Bushings on tonight to no avail. She has new brake pads all around as of May so I don't think it's that as it's been doing it since I bought it last fall.

Any thoughts on what to check? I'm no mechanic but I'm armed with a Haynes manual so I'm in the "slightly dangerous" category. It doesn't seem to be a major problem, more of an annoyance than anything else.

Thanks!

Old 07-09-2006, 09:29 PM
Default RE: Slight clunking from front suspension

Ok, I went out yesterday and did my best to limit where the sound is coming from. When I push down on the front, over any of the wheels/shock absorber columns I can hear the clunk on the side I'm pushing on. I got underneath the car and pushed up the frame and didn't hear anything, so it's only happening when it goes down. This is a one man job; I can't get any closer to "the sound" and I'm not sure where to begin. It sounds like it's coming from somewhere in the column of parts that the shock absorber is in. Any thoughts on how to check on this?

Old 07-10-2006, 02:35 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member

might be a strut or a bushing. could also be an axle

Old 07-10-2006, 05:18 AM

hmmm. ok well how does it ride otherwise. when you go over speed bumps does it go over them with prowess or does it jar you so hard that you think the dash is going to pop off.

does it make the noise when you turn the wheels at all?