Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   General Tech Help (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/general-tech-help-7/)
-   -   Removing shifter cables? (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/general-tech-help-7/removing-shifter-cables-52415/)

BboyWaste 01-16-2013 05:08 AM

Removing shifter cables?

hey guys i stopped by here to try and gain a bit of knowledge from you guys. im no mechanic but i am a do it yourself kind of person and i have done some simple problems like fuel pumps, alternators, bad grounds, and changing a suspension... but now i got this 94 accord and i need to replace my shifter and selector cables. i have limited tools and no experience dealing with it before. if someone could give me a step by step or atleast point me in the right direction that would help me out alot. i could just bring it to the transmissions garage but they told me 550 to replace it and that sounds over priced to me. thanks in advance ! :D
[edit]
[its a standard transmission by the way]

live2rice 01-16-2013 05:19 AM

Welcome. Can't go into step by step but its a real pain to replace the shifter cables in accords. Disconnecting them from either end isn't too hard but getting them all fed through can be trouble.

BboyWaste 01-16-2013 05:21 AM

Originally Posted by live2rice (Post 308248)
Welcome. Can't go into step by step but its a real pain to replace the shifter cables in accords. Disconnecting them from either end isn't too hard but getting them all fed through can be trouble.

thats exactly where im stuck. they are disconnected from both sides but im at a standstill now

JimBlake 01-16-2013 07:53 AM

I'm moving this over to General Tech.

This new-user area is really just for welcome & introduction postings.

BboyWaste 01-16-2013 03:48 PM

Originally Posted by JimBlake (Post 308258)
I'm moving this over to General Tech.