General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1992 Honda Accord weak spark no start.

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2019, 09:20 PM
Default 1992 Honda Accord weak spark no start.

I have a 1992 Honda Accord that has been sitting a few years waiting for my boy to turn 16 so he can drive it. It was having a problem with the igniter in the distributor constantly so I replaced the distributor. I also replaced the coil . Before I did these things I put a new battery in it but didn't connect it securely and it fried the alternator. I replace the alternator secured the battery connections and replaced the distributor. It would start on the first try but then on the second try it was a little harder to start and the third time it wouldn't start. So, I replace the coil. With the brand new coil in it it is not starting and I have a weak spark. I'm not sure where to start looking from here and I'm not a professional mechanic just a backyard mechanic but I do have quite a bit of mechanical knowledge and abilities. Even with the old distributor, which had an igniter that was going bad, it would do about the same thing. It would start the first time, second time would be a little more difficult, shut the car off tried a third time and wouldn't start. So at this point I am guessing there is a problem somewhere else with the ignition system. I would really really appreciate some help with this. Thank you

Old 06-29-2019, 07:14 AM
Super Moderator

When it gets progressively harder to start, do you mean the starter (cranking speed) is slower & slower? Or getting harder in some other way?

Old 06-29-2019, 10:48 AM