Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   New Member Area (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/new-member-area-5/)
-   -   Automatic to Manual Swap on 2002 LX V6 accord coupe (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/new-member-area-5/automatic-manual-swap-2002-lx-v6-accord-coupe-67512/)

JacobDibble 02-09-2020 12:13 PM

Automatic to Manual Swap on 2002 LX V6 accord coupe

Hi,

I am relatively new to modding and I have some questions. I currently have a 2002 LX V6 Accord coupe with a automatic transmission. I’ve debating doing an trans swap to a manual, but I’ve heard the vtec computer doesn’t like going from auto to manual, it can do other way around. I was curious if there’s a way to reprogram the computer or what to look for in terms of a new vtec computer to do the swap. Thanks

shipo 02-09-2020 12:27 PM

Originally Posted by JacobDibble (Post 389298)
Hi,

I am relatively new to modding and I have some questions. I currently have a 2002 LX V6 Accord coupe with a automatic transmission. I’ve debating doing an trans swap to a manual, but I’ve heard the vtec computer doesn’t like going from auto to manual, it can do other way around. I was curious if there’s a way to reprogram the computer or what to look for in terms of a new vtec computer to do the swap. Thanks

If you really want to do a 6MT swap, your best bet would be to find a similar vintage Acura CL 6MT in a bone yard and use it for your swap. That said, it will be better, faster, cheaper to simply find a good condition CL Type-S 6MT and sell your car.

JacobDibble 02-09-2020 12:58 PM

It’s not the trans that’s the problem, I’ve heard I need to reprogram the computer so it doesn’t fail or properly works right. Is that a wrong assumption?

JacobDibble 02-09-2020 01:01 PM

Or are you saying do a full engine and trans swap?

shipo 02-09-2020 01:13 PM

Originally Posted by JacobDibble (Post 389303)