Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   Suspension (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/suspension-14/)
-   -   2013 Honda Accord Front Axle Replacement (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/suspension-14/2013-honda-accord-front-axle-replacement-66194/)

alegrmz 10-15-2018 06:04 PM

2013 Honda Accord Front Axle Replacement

Hi! This is my first time posting in the Accord Forum, hopefully I can get some advice. I am looking into buying a 2013 Honda Accord. My '03 Accord was rear ended nearly a month ago and deemed a total loss. The insurance company offered to buy the car from me. I think that is best option since I live in Hawaii. (Body work is extremely expensive in Hawaii) After searching for a car, I found '13 Accord. However, the seller mentions that the front axle needs to be fixed. They also recently replaced the car's starter. After doing some research online, I learned that the front axle can be easily damaged by potholes and other things. I also called Honda and learned that there was a major recall involving batteries. Maybe that was cause for the new starter? Does anyone have experience with the front axle in '13 Accords? Please let me know! Thanks!

Seanjordan20 10-15-2018 06:13 PM

How many miles are on this accord? Axles needing to replaced at 5 years is crazy unless it's a high mileage car. Did you run a CARFAX to make sure it was not in an accident?

I replaced my axles at 8 years with 140k on the ticker. That averages out to 17k a year. It was on an 07 but they all should be getting around the same miles out of them.

alegrmz 10-15-2018 06:17 PM

Originally Posted by Seanjordan20 (Post 382589)
How many miles are on this accord? Axles needing to replaced at 5 years is crazy unless it's a high mileage car. Did you run a CARFAX to make sure it was not in an accident?