Appearance Talk about your Accord's interior and exterior mods here.

a-pillar gauges

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2006, 12:27 PM
19Accord97
Unregistered
Default a-pillar gauges

Hey guys,
I'm planning on buying an a-pillar mount with 3 holes for 52mm gauges. I know i'm going to get voltage and was thinking water or oil temperature and oil pressure possibly. Do you guys know how hard it is to install by chance, as I've never done this before. The part i'm worried about are the sensors or units that monito the oil pressure and where they go.Thanks!

Here are the gauges + pillar (Anyone know of the quality?)

Voltage
Oil Pressure
Oil Temp
Pillar

Old 07-01-2006, 12:53 PM
Default RE: a-pillar gauges

These gauges should be pretty simple to install since they use included electrical senders. What you will need though is a T fitting. This T fitting (I want to say 1/4" NTP fittings, but someone please double check me) will go where your current oil pressure sender is (should be right above the oil filter). If you want to keep your stock oil pressure sender and the light it operates, you'll need another T. Then you'll screw in a T fitting into the hole in the block. Then connect the senders for the gauges to the T (with teflon tape on the threads). If you want to retain the stock sending unit for oil pressure, screw in the 2nd T into one of the empty spots on the first T, then screw in the stock sender and the other sender for the gauge. You may want to extend the T fitting out with a small piece of pipe so you have room to work with things. All these little hardware parts can be found at your local hardware store for a few bucks.

Just be sure to check for leaks when you are finished. And you may as well do an oil change while you're in there. Bring the senders with you when you go to the store to make sure you get the right pieces.

Old 07-01-2006, 12:57 PM
19Accord97
Unregistered