Appearance Talk about your Accord's interior and exterior mods here.

Tap dome wire for footwell LEDs

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2014, 01:13 AM
Default Tap dome wire for footwell LEDs

Hi,

I have a 2005 Accord coupe. I want to install LED lights inside my car. It should work exactly like the dome light - Switch ON when doors are unlocked; door is open; and switch OFF as soon as the doors are closed (in a dimmer fashion); car is started. I hope you understood what I am talking about.

Please tell me which is the best place to tap the wire? I want the wiring to be really neat. I have heard of these two options.

1. Tap dome lights: Issue is, its hard to run the wire neatly.
2. Tap keysense terminal of ignition.

Both of them are -ve terminals and I have no idea whats the color of the wire that I should tap. Please correct me if I am wrong.

I tried to search for some DIYs but none of them were for 2003-2007 Accords.

I am not an expert so please help me in detail.

Old 12-08-2014, 02:58 PM
Super Moderator

The dome light is negative trigger from the door switches, each door switch wire run to the Multiplex Integrated Control Unit (MICU) located in the under-dash fuse/relay box. If you connect the ground source wire from your LEDs to the wire from the MICU, it will trigger the your LEDs to come on when a door is open and shut off with the doors closed after a brief period.

There is a 5-pin Lt Grn harness connector that plugs into the upper back of the under-dash fuse/relay box. It is the Grn/Red wire (which is a wire with green colored insulation and a red stripe running through it) that supplies the ground to the ceiling light. You may have to remove the kick panel to find it.

The 5-pin Lt Green connector terminal pins are: No. 1 - Wht/Blu; No. 2 - EX, EX-L: RED/BLK; No. 3 - Empty; No. 4 Grn/Red; No. 5 - Except DX - Blk

You may want to post some clear pictures of the under-dash fuse/relay box and wire connectors.

Old 12-08-2014, 03:54 PM